Monday, March 2, 2009

Schedule of Lok Sabha Election schedule 2009 General Elections 2009 Constituencies, number, facts, Kerala, single voter

The election schedule for the Lok Sabha general elections 2009 was announced along with other details, a few minutes ago by Dr N Gopalaswamy (chief election commissioner) at Chief Election Commission.

To get the press release given by the election commission, click here (pdf)

The elections this year will be conducted in 5 phases.


Date of polling


16th April


23rd April (22nd April in one constituency of Manipur)


30th April


7th May


13th May


16th May

The new government will come in power on the 2nd of June.

Different states will have different number of phases depending on the size and other issues.

Number of phases



Jammu and Kashmir, and Uttar Pradesh




West Bengal, Maharashtra


Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Jharkhand,
Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Manipur, Orissa
and Punjab,


All the other states including Kerala


Of the 543 constituencies,

  • 84 will be reserved for Scheduled Castes (This is 5 more than last election's in 2004)
  • 47 will be reserved for Scheduled Tribes

714 million people will vote in this election, 43 million more than 671 million people last time.

All villages with 300 or more voters will be given a separate polling booth.

If there is any problem of intimidation or such, a polling booth will be awarded even if the population is less than 300.

Thus, a polling booth in Gujarat has a single voter. There are only two voters in a polling booth in Chhattisgarh and only 3 voters in polling booths of 3 other states.

If you like what you're reading, subscribe!

Get posts via email:


vaibhav said...

Sanjeev Naik is Navi Mumbai mayor

Father Ganesh Naiks hold in Navi Mumbai reaffirmed
The Navi Mumbai mayoral election yesterday, which was tipped to be a close contest unlike any other before, eventually turned out to be a no-contest.

Sitting mayor and Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) candidate Sanjeev Naik trounced Congress (I) candidate Anil Kaushik by almost double the votes, bagging 41 of the 62 votes. Kaushik secured only 21 votes. This is 30-year-old Naiks third term as mayor of Navi Mumbai, after he became the youngest mayor in the country at the age of 23 in 1995.....

vaibhav said...

Sanjeev Naik is the right candidate for MP' post

Sanjeev Naik is the right candidate for the MP’s post. The country needs the leadership of young generation. We have the leadership of several youngsters in the parliament like Rahul Gandhi and Sanjeev Naik is a honest and brilliant candidate we ever have got hence...

One more time, subscribe via email: